This week I am consumed with helping out with Alpine Ski Club’s Ladies Day 2010: Glam, Gold and Glory. So, this week, I am going to pass on commenting on Social Media.

Having said that, I have been doing some consulting work on the design and interpretation of training feedback. I have to keep telling myself that the principles of evaluating training feedback can be applied to event planning. You can’t please all of the people, all of the time; so, a key principle is to know who your target audience is.

Feedback

You need to consider who is giving you the feedback (whether it is an event or a training session.) Does the feedback represent a trend that everyone (you are targeting) would agree with? Or is the feedback from an individual who has a unique perspective? I’ve received a lot of feedback in the training world from students who would be considered “ringers”. I am always careful to gauge comments being made by these “ringers” as outside the norm (versus  my target audience). After all, would a Sales Rep really want to know how to program bits & bytes?? Of course not!

The Bottom Line

When it comes right down to it: People vote with money. If they keep coming back to your training sessions or events and if you are growing your attendance: You are doing something right! (Could you do better? Perhaps, but that is a conversation for another day.)

That’s all for now.

